KitKeeper book club kit. a novel / Before we were yours
(Kit)

Book Cover
Average Rating

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Downers Grove Public Library - Ask StaffBOOK BAG BEFORE WE WERE YOURSAsk staff

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Kit
Physical Desc
1 book club kit (contents vary)
Language
English
Accelerated Reader
UG
Level 5.1, 18 Points
Lexile code
HL
Lexile measure
760

Notes

Description
"Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--,Provided by publisher.
Local note
KIT

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, L. KitKeeper book club kit: a novel .

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. KitKeeper Book Club Kit: A Novel. .

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. KitKeeper Book Club Kit: A Novel .

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Wingate, Lisa. KitKeeper Book Club Kit: A Novel

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.