The Romanov empress : a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Ballantine Books, 2018.
ISBN
9780425286166, 0425286169
Status
Indian Prairie Public Library District - 1st Floor - Novels  1 available
NOVEL GORTNER

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Indian Prairie Public Library District - 1st Floor - NovelsNOVEL GORTNEROn Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatus
Acorn Public Library District - StacksFIC GORTNER, C.On Shelf
Alsip-Merrionette Park Public Library District - StacksF GORTNEROn Shelf
Batavia Public Library District - Adult FictionFIC Gortner, C. W.On Shelf
Berwyn Public Library - StacksGORTNEROn Shelf
Bloomingdale Public Library - FictionF GOROn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Book
Physical Desc
427 pages : illustrations, maps, genelogical tables ; 25 cm
Language
English

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages 423-424).
Description
"For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar. Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russia's last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia's most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in its final years. Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage--as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie--now called Maria--must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love. Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache. From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Gortner, C. W. (2018). The Romanov empress: a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna . Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Gortner, C. W.. 2018. The Romanov Empress: A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna. New York: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Gortner, C. W.. The Romanov Empress: A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna New York: Ballantine Books, 2018.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Gortner, C. W.. The Romanov Empress: A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna Ballantine Books, 2018.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.