Shadow divers : the true adventure of two Americans who risked everything to solve one of the last mysteries of World War II
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Random House Trade Paperback, 2005.
ISBN
0375760989, 9780375760983
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Batavia Public Library District - Adult Nonfiction940.5451 KUROn Shelf
Downers Grove Public Library - 2nd Floor - Adult940.5451 KUROn Shelf
Evergreen Park Public Library - Stacks940.5451 KUROn Shelf
Geneva Public Library District - 2nd Floor - Nonfiction940.5451 KUROn Shelf
Glen Ellyn Public Library - Adult Nonfiction940.5451 KUROn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Book
Edition
2005 Random House trade paperback edition.
Physical Desc
xi, 390 pages, 24 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color) ; 21 cm
Language
English
Accelerated Reader
UG
Level 7.1, 21 Points

Notes

General Note
"A reader's guide" (p. [377]-390).
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Description
In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery and make history themselves. For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships. But in the Fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones-all buried under decades of accumulated sediment. No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location. Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors--former enemies of their country. As the men's marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew.
Study Program Information
Accelerated Reader AR,UG,7.1,21,86490.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Kurson, R. (2005). Shadow divers: the true adventure of two Americans who risked everything to solve one of the last mysteries of World War II (2005 Random House trade paperback edition.). Random House Trade Paperback.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kurson, Robert. 2005. Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II. New York: Random House Trade Paperback.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kurson, Robert. Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II New York: Random House Trade Paperback, 2005.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Kurson, Robert. Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II 2005 Random House trade paperback edition., Random House Trade Paperback, 2005.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.