Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Random House, [2016].
ISBN
9780812998160, 0812998162
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Indian Prairie Public Library District - 1st Floor - SubjectsBIOGRAPHY WILSON KATHERINEChecked out
LocationCall NumberStatus
Acorn Public Library District - Stacks945 WILOn Shelf
Alsip-Merrionette Park Public Library District - Stacks945.7 WILOn Shelf
Batavia Public Library District - Adult Nonfiction914.5731 WILOn Shelf
Forest Park Public Library - Stacks945.731 WILOn Shelf
Franklin Park Library District - Adult Nonfiction945.731 WILOn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
viii, 287 pages ; 22 cm
Language
English

Notes

Description
"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher and Peter Mayle, this enchantingly warm and witty memoir follows American-born Katherine Wilson on her adventures abroad, where a three-month rite of passage in Naples turns into a permanent embrace of this boisterous city on the Mediterranean. It is all thanks to a surprising romance, a new passion for food, and a spirited woman who will become her mother-in-law--and teach her to laugh, to seize joy, and to love"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"When Katherine Wilson decides to do an internship abroad after graduating from college in 1996, she is warned by her family and friends against going to Naples. It is dirty and dangerous, she is told. 'The good guys and the bad guys all look alike; ' 'You should really go to Tuscany, ' she is cautioned. But it is the chaos and vibrancy of Naples that intrigues Katherine. After taking an internship at the American Consulate she is set up on a blind date with a young man named Salva. She expects to be taken to dinner at a pizzeria, but instead is taken home to meet Salva's mother, Raffaella. This marks the start of Katherine's initiation into Italian society. She and Salva end up marrying, but it's Raffaella who gives Katherine the culinary and cultural education that marks the beginning of her womanhood"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Wilson, K. (2016). Only in Naples: lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law (First edition.). Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wilson, Katherine, 1974-. 2016. Only in Naples: Lessons in Food and Famiglia From My Italian Mother-in-law. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Wilson, Katherine, 1974-. Only in Naples: Lessons in Food and Famiglia From My Italian Mother-in-law New York: Random House, 2016.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Wilson, Katherine. Only in Naples: Lessons in Food and Famiglia From My Italian Mother-in-law First edition., Random House, 2016.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.