Black man in a white coat : a doctor's reflections on race and medicine
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Picador, 2015.
ISBN
9781250044631, 1250044634
Status
Indian Prairie Public Library District - 1st Floor - Subjects  1 available
610 TWEEDY

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Indian Prairie Public Library District - 1st Floor - Subjects610 TWEEDYOn Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatus
Alsip-Merrionette Park Public Library District - Stacks610.92 TWE BIOGRAPHYOn Shelf
Batavia Public Library District - Adult Nonfiction610.92 TWEOn Shelf
Berwyn Public Library - StacksBIOGRAPHY TWEEDYOn Shelf
Bloomingdale Public Library - Nonfiction610.92 TWEOn Shelf
Blue Island Public Library - StacksBIO TWEOn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
294 pages ; 25 cm
Language
English

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bilbiographical references (pages 289-291).
Description
"One doctor's passionate and profound memoir of his experience grappling with race, bias, and the unique health problems of black Americans. When Damon Tweedy begins medical school, he envisions a bright future where his segregated, working-class background will become largely irrelevant. Instead, he finds that he has joined a new world where race is front and center. The recipient of a scholarship designed to increase black student enrollment, Tweedy soon meets a professor who bluntly questions whether he belongs in medical school, a moment that crystallizes the challenges he will face throughout his career. Making matters worse, in lecture after lecture the common refrain for numerous diseases resounds, "More common in blacks than whites." Black Man in a White Coat examines the complex ways in which both black doctors and patients must navigate the difficult and often contradictory terrain of race and medicine. As Tweedy transforms from student to practicing physician, he discovers how often race influences his encounters with patients. Through their stories, he illustrates the complex social, cultural, and economic factors at the root of most health problems in the black community. These issues take on greater meaning when Tweedy is himself diagnosed with a chronic disease far more common among black people. In this powerful, moving, and deeply empathic book, Tweedy explores the challenges confronting black doctors, and the disproportionate health burdens faced by black patients, ultimately seeking a way forward to better treatment and more compassionate care"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"When Damon Tweedy first enters the halls of Duke University Medical School on a full scholarship, he envisions a bright future where his segregated, working class background will become largely irrelevant. Instead, he finds that he has joined a new world where race is front and center. When one of his first professors mistakes him for a maintenance worker, it is a moment that crystallizes the challenges he will face throughout his early career. Making matters worse, in lecture after lecture the common refrain for numerous diseases resounds, "More common in blacks than whites." In riveting, honest prose, Black Man in a White Coat examines the complex ways in which both black doctors and patients must navigate the difficult and often contradictory terrain of race and medicine. As Tweedy transforms from student to practicing physician, he discovers how often race influences his encounters with patients. Through their stories, he illustrates the complex social, cultural, and economic factors at the root of most health problems in the black community. These elements take on greater meaning when Tweedy finds himself diagnosed with a chronic disease far more common among black people. In this powerful, moving, and compassionate book, Tweedy deftly explores the challenges confronting black doctors, and the disproportionate health burdens faced by black patients, ultimately seeking a way forward to better treatment and more compassionate care.- For readers of Atul Gawande, Sandeep Jauhar, Pauline W. Chen, and Henrietta Lacks"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
When Tweedy began medical school, he envisioned a bright future where his segregated, working-class background would become irrelevant. Instead he found himself grappling with race, bias, and the unique health problems of black Americans, and met a professor who bluntly questioned whether he belonged in medical school. In examining the complex ways in which both black doctors and patients must navigate the difficult and often contradictory terrain of race and medicine, he illustrates the complex social, cultural, and economic factors at the root of most health problems in the black community.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Tweedy, D. (2015). Black man in a white coat: a doctor's reflections on race and medicine (First edition.). Picador.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Tweedy, Damon. 2015. Black Man in a White Coat: A Doctor's Reflections On Race and Medicine. New York: Picador.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Tweedy, Damon. Black Man in a White Coat: A Doctor's Reflections On Race and Medicine New York: Picador, 2015.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Tweedy, Damon. Black Man in a White Coat: A Doctor's Reflections On Race and Medicine First edition., Picador, 2015.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.