The girls : a novel
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
[New York] : Random House Large Print, [2016].
ISBN
9780735208186, 0735208182
Status
Indian Prairie Public Library District - 1st Floor - Large Type  1 available
LARGE TYPE NOVEL CLINE

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Indian Prairie Public Library District - 1st Floor - Large TypeLARGE TYPE NOVEL CLINEOn Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatus
Downers Grove Public Library - 2nd Floor - AdultLARGE TYPE FICTION CLINE, E.On Shelf
Eisenhower Public Library District - StacksLT FIC CLINE, E.On Shelf
Evergreen Park Public Library - StacksLP F CLINEOn Shelf
Forest Park Public Library - StacksLP FIC CLINEOn Shelf
Frankfort Public Library District - StacksLT CLINE, E.On Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Large Print
Physical Desc
369 pages (large print) ; 24 cm
Language
English

Notes

Description
Girls--their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong--are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged--a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction--and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.
Local note
LARGE PRINT

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Cline, E. (2016). The girls: a novel . Random House Large Print.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Cline, Emma. 2016. The Girls: A Novel. [New York]: Random House Large Print.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Cline, Emma. The Girls: A Novel [New York]: Random House Large Print, 2016.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Cline, Emma. The Girls: A Novel Random House Large Print, 2016.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.