The girls : a novel
(Audiobook CD)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Published
New York, New York : Random House Audio :, [2016].
ISBN
9780147523990, 0147523990, 9780147524010, 0147524016
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Batavia Public Library District - Adult AVCD Audiobook Cline, EmmaOn Shelf
Bensenville Community Public Library District - Adult Book On CD FictionCLINE (AUDIO-CD)On Shelf
Blue Island Public Library - StacksAUDIOBK CD FIC CLIOn Shelf
Calumet City Public Library - Adult AudiobooksCD TALKING BOOK FICTION CLIOn Shelf
Carol Stream Public Library - Adult AudiobooksBCD/CLINE EOn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
Audiobook CD
Edition
Unabridged.
Physical Desc
8 audio discs (10 hr.) : digital, CD audio ; 4 3/4 in.
Language
English

Notes

General Note
Compact discs.
Participants/Performers
Read by Cady McClain.
Description
Girls-- their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong-- are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged-- a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction-- and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.
Local note
AUDIOBOOK CD

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Cline, E., & McClain, C. (2016). The girls: a novel (Unabridged.). Random House Audio :.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Cline, Emma and Cady McClain. 2016. The Girls: A Novel. New York, New York: Random House Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Cline, Emma and Cady McClain. The Girls: A Novel New York, New York: Random House Audio, 2016.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Cline, Emma,, and Cady McClain. The Girls: A Novel Unabridged., Random House Audio :, 2016.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.