Velvet Was the Night Readalikes

Created on September 21, 2021, 2:33 pm

Last Updated January 20, 2022, 3:43 pm

Export List to Excel
Description
Notes
For another historical (although this is the 1880s not the 1970s) starring a sleuthing, excellent, although possibly in over her head, heroine.
Description
Notes
A hero to root for, a touch of romance, and 1970s government corruption (but in Argentina this time) make this a great readalike for "Velvet Was the Night".
Notes
While more philosophical and poignant than "Velvet Was the Night", this story also looks at the effect of a missing person and their activism in a politically corrupt environment.
Description
Notes
Read this for a Brazilian twist on classic noir fiction.
Description
Notes
Though darker, this novel also plumbs the depths of dissonance in a restrictive society and makes use of popular culture.
Description