Chunky
(eBook)

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English
Accelerated Reader
MG
Level 2.8, 1 Points

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Yehudi Mercado., Yehudi Mercado|AUTHOR., & Yehudi Mercado|ILLUSTRATOR. (2021). Chunky . HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Yehudi Mercado, Yehudi Mercado|AUTHOR and Yehudi Mercado|ILLUSTRATOR. 2021. Chunky. HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Yehudi Mercado, Yehudi Mercado|AUTHOR and Yehudi Mercado|ILLUSTRATOR. Chunky HarperCollins Publishers, 2021.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Yehudi Mercado, Yehudi Mercado|AUTHOR, and Yehudi Mercado|ILLUSTRATOR. Chunky HarperCollins Publishers, 2021.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID039fc220-c20c-40fc-1ca8-70dff8488a0d-eng
Full titlechunky
Authormercado yehudi
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-04-24 11:39:02AM
Last Indexed2024-04-24 11:39:45AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedAug 10, 2023
Last UsedApr 23, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2021
    [artist] => Yehudi Mercado
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hpc_9780062972804_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 15257589
    [isbn] => 9780062972804
    [rating] => E
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Chunky
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 208
    [children] => 1
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Yehudi Mercado
                    [artistFormal] => Mercado, Yehudi
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [1] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Yehudi Mercado
                    [artistFormal] => Mercado, Yehudi
                    [relationship] => ILLUSTRATOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Children's
            [1] => Humorous
            [2] => Nonfiction
        )

    [price] => 3.19
    [id] => 15257589
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => COMIC
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => In this full-color middle grade graphic memoir for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft, Yehudi Mercado draws inspiration from his childhood struggle with his weight while finding friendship with his imaginary mascot, Chunky, as he navigates growing up in a working class Mexican-Jewish family.
Hudi needs to lose weight, according to his doctors. Concerned about the serious medical issue Hudi had when he was younger, his parents push him to try out for sports. Hudi would rather do anything else, but then he meets Chunky, his imaginary friend and mascot. Together, they decide to give baseball a shot. 
As the only Mexican and Jewish kid in his neighborhood, Hudi has found the cheerleader he never had. Baseball doesn't go well (unless getting hit by the ball counts), but the two friends have a great time drawing and making jokes. While Hudi's parents keep trying to find the right sport for Hudi, Chunky encourages him to pursue his true love-comedy.
But when Hudi's dad loses his job, it gets harder for Hudi to chart his own course, even with Chunky's guidance. Can Chunky help Hudi stay true to himself or will this friendship strike out?
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15257589
    [pa] => 
    [series] => Chunky
    [publisher] => HarperCollins Publishers
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)