The Last Debutantes: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
William Morrow Paperbacks, 2021.
ISBN
9780063009301
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Georgie Blalock., & Georgie Blalock|AUTHOR. (2021). The Last Debutantes: A Novel . William Morrow Paperbacks.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Georgie Blalock and Georgie Blalock|AUTHOR. 2021. The Last Debutantes: A Novel. William Morrow Paperbacks.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Georgie Blalock and Georgie Blalock|AUTHOR. The Last Debutantes: A Novel William Morrow Paperbacks, 2021.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Georgie Blalock, and Georgie Blalock|AUTHOR. The Last Debutantes: A Novel William Morrow Paperbacks, 2021.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9e8164c4-f322-96ff-37dd-3e8590b37fdc-eng
Full titlelast debutantes
Authorblalock georgie
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2022-12-01 22:18:31PM
Last Indexed2022-12-04 05:52:11AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedJun 8, 2022
Last UsedDec 4, 2022

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2021
    [artist] => Georgie Blalock
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hpc_9780063009301_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 13795217
    [isbn] => 9780063009301
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => The Last Debutantes
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 384
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Georgie Blalock
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Family Life
            [1] => Fiction
            [2] => Historical
            [3] => Women
            [4] => World War II
        )

    [price] => 3.04
    [id] => 13795217
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => Fans of The Kennedy Debutante and Last Year in Havana will love Georgie Blalock's new novel of a world on the cusp of change...set on the eve of World War II in the glittering world of English society and one of the last debutante seasons.

They danced the night away, knowing their world was about to change forever. They were the debutantes of 1939, laughing on the outside, but knowing tragedy- and a war-was just around the corner. When Valerie de Vere Cole, the niece of Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain, makes her deep curtsey to the King and Queen of England, she knows she's part of a world about to end. The daughter of a debt-ridden father and a neglectful mother, Valerie sees firsthand that war is imminent. Nevertheless, Valerie reinvents herself as a carefree and glittering young society woman, befriending other debutantes from England's aristocracy as well as the vivacious Eunice Kennedy, daughter of the U.S. Ambassador. Despite her social success, the world's troubles and Valerie's fear of loss and loneliness prove impossible to ignore.

How will she navigate her new life when everything in her past has taught her that happiness and stability are as fragile as peace in our time? For the moment, she will forget her cares in too much champagne and waltzes. Because very soon, Valerie knows that she must find the inner strength to stand strong and carry on through the challenges of life and love and war.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13795217
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Novel
    [publisher] => William Morrow Paperbacks
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)
1