The Poppy Wife
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
HarperCollins, 2019.
ISBN
9780062955319
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Caroline Scott., & Caroline Scott|AUTHOR. (2019). The Poppy Wife . HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Caroline Scott and Caroline Scott|AUTHOR. 2019. The Poppy Wife. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Caroline Scott and Caroline Scott|AUTHOR. The Poppy Wife HarperCollins, 2019.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Caroline Scott, and Caroline Scott|AUTHOR. The Poppy Wife HarperCollins, 2019.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDbd50dba2-5f67-d97b-2180-4ddf78d7e1d6-eng
Full titlepoppy wife
Authorscott caroline
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2022-09-25 12:35:41PM
Last Indexed2022-09-28 04:52:36AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedJun 9, 2022
Last UsedSep 28, 2022

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2019
    [artist] => Caroline Scott
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062955319_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 13216802
    [isbn] => 9780062955319
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => The Poppy Wife
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 448
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Caroline Scott
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Fiction
            [1] => Historical
            [2] => Historical - 20th Century
            [3] => Romance
            [4] => Women
            [5] => World War I
        )

    [price] => 3.04
    [id] => 13216802
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => "A beautifully evocative reminder of what it means to come back from war and to face the age-old question of whether it is better to have survived or to have died. Highly recommended."-Library Journal, starred review


	In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I.



1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their broken lives. While many have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie's husband Francis is still missing. Francis is presumed to have been killed in action, but Edie knows he is alive.
	Harry, Francis's brother, was there the day Francis went missing in Ypres. And like Edie, he's hopeful Francis is living somewhere in France, lost and confused. Hired by grieving families in need of closure, Harry returns to the Western Front to photograph soldiers' graves. As he travels through France gathering news for British wives and mothers, he searches for evidence his own brother is still alive.
	When Edie receives a mysterious photograph that she believes was taken by Francis, she is more certain than ever he isn't dead. Edie embarks on her own journey in the hope of finding some trace of her husband. Is he truly gone, or could he still be alive? And if he is, why hasn't he come home? 
	As Harry and Edie's paths converge, they get closer to the truth about Francis and, as they do, are soon faced with the life-changing impact of the answers they discover. 
	An incredibly moving account of an often-forgotten moment in history-those years after the war that were filled with the unknown-The Poppy Wife tells the story of the thousands of soldiers who were lost amid the chaos and ruins in battle-scarred France; and the even greater number of men and women hoping to find them again.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13216802
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Novel of the Great War
    [publisher] => HarperCollins
)
1