The Poet X
(eBook)

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English
Accelerated Reader
UG
Level 5.2, 5 Points
Lexile code
HL
Lexile measure
800

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo., & Elizabeth Acevedo|AUTHOR. (2018). The Poet X . HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo and Elizabeth Acevedo|AUTHOR. 2018. The Poet X. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo and Elizabeth Acevedo|AUTHOR. The Poet X HarperCollins, 2018.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Elizabeth Acevedo, and Elizabeth Acevedo|AUTHOR. The Poet X HarperCollins, 2018.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3adbc38a-c6c9-9479-859e-a1ffd7bfec84-eng
Full titlepoet x
Authoracevedo elizabeth
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2022-09-25 17:10:39PM
Last Indexed2022-09-26 00:50:51AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedDec 7, 2021
Last UsedDec 7, 2021

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2018
    [artist] => Elizabeth Acevedo
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062662828_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 13051375
    [isbn] => 9780062662828
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => The Poet X
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 384
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Elizabeth Acevedo
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Coming Of Age
            [1] => Emigration & Immigration
            [2] => Novels In Verse
            [3] => Social Themes
            [4] => Young Adult Fiction
        )

    [price] => 2.69
    [id] => 13051375
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!
	Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. 
	Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.
	But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers-especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. 
	With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems. 
	Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.
	"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." -Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation
	"An incredibly potent debut." -Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost
	"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." -Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13051375
    [pa] => 
    [publisher] => HarperCollins
)
1